Beauty is not subjective in that the only conception of beauty that concerns me is my own; beauty is clearly defined for me, and I believe that I reiterate the standards of beauty that everyone accepts but does not acknowledge for fear of political incorrectness. The beauty (sic!) of the internet is that my thoughts can be publicised, they are as valid as anyone else’s, and hence are entitled to the little space that the vast stretches of the net affords them.

Discrimination based on skin colour is ubiquitous but  not unquestionable; history has shown that the lighter skin tone as often indicated status, racial superiority, wealth and other features associated with prosperity and success. Thus,  it is unsurprising that the lighter and fair skin colours have become a standard feature of beauty. As a non-Caucasian, I have been (un-)privileged to experience the institutionalised, systematic and hurtful disadvantages that are associated with the darker skin colour. I have melanin, and my genetics decide that sun exposure will generate more melanin, thus, I tan; in fact, I am tan. Unnecessary examination of my complexion revealed that I have a ‘very warm, peach’ skin undertone (very rare, so I was told), so even when I am following the vampire lifestyle, I still look ‘sun-kissed’ (too much kissing).

The development of the youtube beauty guru culture has not helped, the perpetual assurance by these makeup artists/gurus that the colour of foundation is ‘a little too light’ for them simply because they still have a tan reduces my faith in my own skin colour. I keep comparing the foundation colours to my own, and keep learning that they are simply tan, and once their tan wears off, they will resemble the paper napkin I wiped my snot on. It is my conviction, that if a person always has a tan, then he or she is of tan skin colour.

Furthermore, the recent campaigns of ‘Dark is Beautiful’ are heartwarming only when I am hearing them from people who are, in fact, dark. I do not want ivory-skinned beauties, who have never had to reconcile with being the ‘before’ picture in commercials, explain that dark skin is beautiful. It is easy being on a high horse when you have not dealt with its shit; it confuses me when fair skinned people denigrate bleaching treatments, peels and other tools that the rest of the population use to achieve their desired complexion. It is imperative that aspirations be acknowledged, otherwise, insecurities are being bred but their source is unacknowledged, as light skin still remains desirable but the desire is shameful.

I will always desire a complexion that is lighter, I will continue to use creams and remedies that promise me lighter skin, but I have accepted myself. There is a constant reminder that this is as good as it is going to get, and I move on!

 

Leave a Reply

